Why do I Give this Impression?

For whatever reason, a lot of people seem to assume I’m closed minded.  They think I’m inflexible, and that talking to me is pointless.  Sometimes they think if I make a declarative statement in a conversation, I’m calling/considering the conversation over, and they stop.  I really don’t know why.  Even when my reply is more like “oh I had thought such and such, but” and before I can say “maybe you’re right,” they’ll just go “fine, okay, forget I said anything.”  I normally can’t even get them to re-engage when I explain I was actually trying to say I might have been wrong.  I don’t know what I do that makes me seem like that.  What makes me seem unreasonable, inflexible, and immovable?

It’s contributed to a potentially life changing rift this year, and I want to change it.  I don’t know how.

I'm getting verklempt. Talk amongst yourselves. Here, I'll give you a topic...

